My first Cappuccino

I looked at my watch and realized I was already late. Finally I was able to decide what to wear. Carefully I took out a sleeveless red jumper from the shelf and wore it beneath Mom’s black cardigan that she no longer wears. I matched my grey colored trouser with the black block heels to appear a little taller. That’s the perfect mix and match I could make for the most spectacular day of my life. I was about to meet him for the first time. I had never met him just talked over the phone. And this meeting wasn’t planned, it just happened in the same way we got to know each other accidentally, through a common friend of ours. And today my friend has invited us at a Coffee Cafe labelling it as a reunion as to give us an opportunity to see each other. I had been talking to this stranger ( but not stranger anymore) from past few months and I had already realized that some strange connection is surely between us. And unlikely happened before, this time I was ready to break all rules and come out of shell..

But that wasn’t so easy for me or the family.  I had to make many lies at home. Mom was still skeptical about this idea of reunion plan but I was able to convince her. I looked upon the mirror one last time and gaze at myself. There was just a deep dash of smudge full kohl around my eyes; that’s it. As I slowly moved out of my place; I remained conscious about my walk in heels. That wasn’t something I did everyday. I smiled and immediately hid my blush. I had to change two public autos and walk half a mile in between. Halfway I got call from my friend that he will not be joining us so now it’s going to be just two of us. That made me really nervous. I had no clue what to do or if I really go and meet my unknown-phone friend. As I was about to stop myself, ‘he’ called me up. He wanted to confirm if I’m comfortable to meet just him. Neither we were friends nor more than that;  we actually were strangers. But strangely I said yes and I wanted to meet him atleast once in my life. I moved my steps forward to only stop outside the coffee shop where I always wanted to get in!

I had watched many people,  mostly couple, school students or professionals passing their time there and spending hours over just a cup of coffee. Coming back and forth from the tution , I always noticed the same people sitting there and chatting amongst themselves. There used to enormous posters embellished outside the cafe and promotion offers but I never felt any need to stumble upon them; that was never my cup of coffee. And hence when the time came in, I hesitated to enter but someone opened the door for me and I had to courteously moved in. I moved my eyes around, there was nobody that I could thought to be like him. Some people were alone at the table but I wasn’t able to relate with any of them. He definitely had to be someone special as for him I had broken all my rules. I looked out of the glass window and saw a large guy in purple jacket and green trackpants approaching the door with a steep curiosity on his face and my heart stopped completely; “Not him” I yelled to myself. I dialed his number immediately at my cell to check but this guy was on phone too. Scared, I dropped my head at the table and suddenly someone touched my hairs from behind and my heart almost fell outside my body!!

The other guy I falsely imagined, he was nowhere around me. My eyes can now only see what they wished to see and there was he standing next to me in an astute aura of my thoughts.  He looked so comfortable in his orange pullovers and a brown muffler. Big beard had completely covered his oval face but still he looked so innocent. There was no handshake, just a sweet hello on our whispers. We had talked a lot over the phone without knowing each other but that moment was beyond every conversation we ever had. We never had seen each other, to tell you all he had was my old school pic and I had bitmap image of his Orkut profile picture!

Time blessed us with a golden opportunity. Within moments I realized that he is definitely not a stranger for me, though meeting first but I knew we are acquaintances since long time. And I wasn’t the only one who felt this magic. He too constantly kept staring at my eyes and I knew there is no escape now. We never had interacted as a GF or BF but we really need not to speak anything further.  He passed the Cafe Menu and slowly whispered what I would like to have. I hesitantly looked at it and screened out what I can order out of it. In reality I had no interest in the choices of coffee, his mere presence was enough for me. Somehow he was able to understand me. ” I would like to have a Cappuccino“, he whispered slowly.  I smiled and shied away and nod” me too“!!  That was the first time I heard this word and still many years ahead this is my favourite coffee. And trust me I think we had spent the maximum time anyone would have ever spend over a cup of Cappuccino!!

“This blogathon is supported by Woo, The most popular match making app in India with a base of over 3.5 million users.”

Leave a Reply

