9 months that make you feel out of the world 


With an inquisitive mind, I took the pregnancy kit from him and went back to the washroom. A minute later I came out and asked for another one, I had spoiled it hurriedly.

” Sweetu,  check it properly na.. There are easy instructions written on it that has to be followed, and don’t feel nervous”.

“Yup, I will and I’m not nervous”.

After a month or so, and post many such strips; finally that day arrived when those two lines turned red.

There were some strange feeling bubbling inside us and we literally shied away as we disclosed the news with our parents, we realized that was our naivety as a first time parents and as the time progressed; we continued to emerge more lunatic in this stage of parenting.We felt as if we are in a new world altogether and wanted to shout aloud with the happiness bursting inside us. But in our society, people refrain disclosing this good news with others at least for the initial 3 months, there is something peculiar about this period.  Many call this first trimester as a ‘make or break period‘ and actually scare you completely.

And as you disclose your big news the real thing start happening thereafter:

  1. No more heels, no tight fit clothes and if possible no more jeans please.
  2. Stop moving too fast, don’t run,  don’t jog just walk.
  3. Don’t eat ‘theeka’, ‘khatta’,  but you can have that ‘kaccha Aam‘  as portrayed in movies. And yes starting eating for the baby too ( Are you joking, my fetus is probably an inch in size??)
  4. Stop watching horror or action movies (not joking), tune into bhajans, sanskaar channel and garbh sanskaar.
  5. You had enough mauj-masti till now, its time to get a bit serious in life and ready to bear the upcoming responsibilities.

I somehow appreciate the real intent behind those words but strongly disagree to these poster talks. If you are going to be a Mom, the best you can do with yourself is that just ‘be you‘. If you start to change yourself, then how can your baby imbibe your footprints??

And if I talk about being healthy in those bulging months, yes your body undergoes many changes, mostly unbeknownst to you but the more we worry about them, the more they annoy us. Like I conceived 21 kgs during my pregnancy and people could guess about me since 2nd month itself but I couldn’t do much about it. But the best thing I did was a do keep myself busy with my work, a bit of exercise and good eating habits. Just like the one shown here:

Also I did hell lot of shopping(for myself not the baby), watched all the good released movies, drove the car till my 8th month and gave a damn to anyone who thought that I had turned weaker or became victimized out of my pregnant situation.

Pregnancy is a rightful choice of the woman and you just can’t be turned as a scapegoat, nobody can force you to stop being happy, to stop being your own self and to hide yourself behind any bushes.  I remember once I went to the parlor and an old lady advised me to carry a dupatta with me and cover myself, I felt very strange to hear that keeping in mind I wasn’t there without decent clothes!As usual people say ‘n’ words, I had option to either listen to them or to my tiny little bub growing inside my voluminous womb and as ‘ you should always listen to your heart‘; I chose the latter option.

I must say that during those entire 9 months I was worried about just one thing- my baby’s heart beat.  And the more I laughed and smiled, I was able to felt it better.

These days never come back, you just dream and dream about your new life with your partner 🙂 You try to shape up your present and rectify your errors so that once the baby arrives, everything go smooth. Weight, blood pressure, constipation, stretch marks, pain- you can’t help it but you really can’t let the lovely moments of bonding go. I don’t remember much about it today nor about the delivery hassles and yes not even about those scars ( there are few things that remain always and you can’t do much about them). What I know is that I’m a beautiful mother of the most adorable baby in this world and this feeling is simply superb. So my advice to you: just sit back and relax 🙂

One Comment Add yours

  1. I will most certainly take that advice, at 23 weeks. 😎

    Like

Leave a Reply

