How Mom inspired me, Mothers Day thoughts… 

on

My Mom is a homemaker, she is not too smart or extremely talented. Her hobbies are limited and nor she is highly educated. She married my father at a very tender age and being a mother of 3 children, I mostly watched her taking care of us; cooking food, washing, cleaning and in her free time ( very rare though) she used to take a nap or watch TV. I hardly remember her advises, though she rarely did and most of the time she had one statement to pass” Aane to Papa ko shaam ko, sab bata doongi” and we used to turn like statues till the next dawn. Those days were simple, routine and passed like a breeze and today we all are sitting in our own places far from her and trying to jot few words about whether she has inspired us in our lives; if yes then how??

” You are not doing anything special, you are just like any mother who has to take care of her child”. Sometimes I even said this to her, might be you have thought the same as well with your Mom or almost said it in your mind or maybe not. During the teenage days as I was turning into a rebel like other kids, I believed that I’m the only one who knows everything; and often it was hard to make Mom understand everything, even I started to dislike her intervention (though she rarely did) . There were times when I said her to leave my room late at night quoting that I want some ‘me-time’. At that point of time, I was very naive to decide who is driving my life! Even after my marriage, I was very happy and enjoying new adventures of my life. I hardly had any time to sit and ponder over the points if my Mom has really inspired me to be what I have become- a dotting wife, loving bahu, an expert professional or in to-to a smart woman!

You might think that where is the dose of inspiration in all these words and why to mention all this if I wanted to be on my own. But that’s not what I mean to convey.  The very fact is that as we grow up, we start taking everything for granted and we forgot the main force that has really driven our life since the birth. But after becoming a mother, as I put myself in her shoes,  I realized and understood completely that if there is someone who has actually moved my emotions, my intellect and my mind- that person without a question is  My Mom; the one who taught me unspokenly about two great things- Love and Care.

Beautiful things always come in small package. She never tried to explain us too much, neither she interefered much and these are one of the best lessons I have learned from her. You don’t need to scan child’s book, shelves or bags to see what they are upto; sometimes you have to go by instincts and trust your little ones. My Maa always did that and albeit we were the ones to tell our stories to her everyday and about everything. “Lend me some support in household work “, she used to say; not that she wanted us to become a homemaker but for the very fact that we don’t  tag any work big or small and learn to manage our things on own if needed . She always had a tight budget for the monthly planning but still she knew how to bring smiles on our faces with that weekly treats and occassional shopping. She mastered the art of ‘saying no’ and I have learnt its not a big deal to say’no’ when you think you must say . She never bonded herself in one ideology and she did her best to adapt the changes we brought in. When a mother transforms to a close friend with whom you can enjoy shopping, go for movies, eat and roam in the city; she becomes a living inspiration for yourself.

Today I read about so many mothers who frustrates about leaving their jobs to take care of their children (including myself). We have forgotten that our mothers need not be working to prove her worth to us as children. Neither she required to prove her worth to anyone, she never cribbed about what she didn’t had because she always had us. Despite of having no ambitions, career aspirations; she always filled our hearts with hope and dreams. And today even been so far away, she still bestow her unconditional love upon us, even in her prayings. 

My Maa, neverthless of being an ordinary Mom with a simple life is perfect in every sense; she is my #momspiration.

Leave a Reply

